Return to UK Science Blog Prize 2012 Results

UK Science Blog Prize 2012

Logo of UK Science Blog Prize

[edit 14/11] Nominations are now closed and detail of the short listed candidates and prize giving evening are here…

Good Thinking are delighted to announce the inaugural UK Science Blog Prize.

Although there are already several prizes established in the UK for science books, general science writing and even skeptical blogging, there appears to be no dedicated recognition for science bloggers.

We’d like this to change, as we feel that some of the best science writing currently being produced is being written by science bloggers.

What is the Prize?

First prize is £1,000. There will be at least three runners up prizes of £100 each.

Who Can Be Nominated?

Nominees must be UK-based bloggers and featured blog entries must have been published in 2012. Other than that, we’re open to all science blogs and that means science in its broadest sense (i.e. pure science, applied science, engineering, mathematics, technology, statistics, health). We also encourage bloggers from all backgrounds to apply, ranging from teenagers to learned professors. We wish to keep the criteria as open as possible. It’s likely the runners up prizes will go to specific category winners, such as best student blog or best pure science blog.

How to Nominate

Bloggers will self-nominate by completing this simple form. Nominations closed at midnight on the 15th October for the 2012 prize.

If you feel that someone deserves a nomination, please contact them and encourage them to apply.

The Judges

In addition to Simon Singh at Good Thinking, the following will also be on the judging panel:

Ben Goldacre is a doctor and writer, who’s work focuses on unpicking the real evidence behind scientific claims from quacks, journalists, drug companies, and government reports.

Mark Henderson is a former Science Editor at The Times and author of The Geek Manifesto, detailing the relationship between science and politics. He is Head of Communications at the Wellcome Trust and doesn’t blog as often as he should.

Roger Highfield was the Science Editor of The Daily Telegraph for two decades and the Editor of New Scientist between 2008 and 2011. Today, he is the Director of External Affairs at the Science Museum Group.

Síle Lane is Director of Campaigns at Sense About Science and is a former stem cell researcher.

Martin Robbins is science writer, podcaster and journalist who blogs for The Guardian about science, pseudoscience and the role of science in politics.

Sid Rodrigues is the organiser of the world’s first Skeptics in the Pub, based in London and has served as consultant/organiser for science outreach events for over 5 years. He previously spent ten years as a scientist in applied genetics, analytical chemistry and forensics. He currently works at London’s home of free thought, Conway Hall.

Connie St Louis is Director of City’s Science Journalism MA, is an award-winning freelance broadcaster, journalist, writer and scientist. She presents and produces a range programmes for BBC Radio 4 and BBC World Service.

Judging Criteria

Among the criteria for judging the blogs will be scientific content; reach; influence; entertainment and frequency of posting. However, given this is the first year of the award other criteria may arise.

Prize Giving

Details of where, when and how the prizes will be awarded will be announced shortly.